XMas day 2016 and passing it forward.

It is rare that folks have the time or want to hit the streets with me on my yearly trip to the streets on Christmas Day..well this year was very different..so different we needed to take two cars.

I want to thank Mike Willy, Tabi, Jason and Tony for giving up a day where they could have stayed warm and done anything and chose to hit the streets looking for folks who do not go to shelters  or even hang out around them.. as we look for folks in less obvious places around the city.

I do not often take photos.. as I waffle on the thin line of exploitation and feeling weird about it but I did this day.

This is Roman…I had not seen him in the normal spot he had been the last few years.. over by Detroit Receiving.. he told me security had been giving him a hard time so he moved. I was super happy to find him.

Here is an image of Roman he requested a cup of coffee with lots of cream and sugar.. so we went to Starbucks in Greektown..only place open on xmas and got him a cup.

20161225_150904.jpg

And just randomly I paid for the cup of coffee for the guy behind me..I do this from time to time and then I said hello to him and asked him what he was doing in Detroit

He name was Ross he was in from Texas and GET THIS.. he was with his family giving out gift packs to the homeless.. oh yea I was meant to meet that guy.. thanks, Ross.

unnamed.jpg

 

Some of the other gentlemen we saw on the streets.. these guys were up by 8 and I75.

20161225_141103

Notice the Church of Everyon 1 hat!  20161225_141803

20161225_141955

 

 

Here is Jason and Mike W. talking to a man in Roosevelt Park. 20161225_162459

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

